The Fashion Awards 2018: nominations announced

british fashion council



Powered by article titled “The Fashion Awards 2018: nominations announced” was written by Scarlett Conlon Acting fashion editor (news), for The Guardian on Tuesday 23rd October 2018 10.08 UTC

The Fashion Award nominations for 2018 have been announced this morning, with major nods going to the most high-profile designer debuts of the year.

Louis Vuitton’s Virgil Abloh and Dior Homme’s Kim Jones, who unveiled their first collections for the luxury houses in July, have both picked up a nomination in the prized Designer of the Year category, while Riccardo Tisci, who took over the reigns at Burberry, has been nominated in the British Designer of the Year Menswear group.

As in previous years, Northern-Irish designer Jonathan Anderson leads with the largest number of nominations, the three of which are split between his own-name label JW Anderson and Spanish house Loewe, where he is also creative director. Givenchy’s Clare Waight Keller, who famously designed the Duchess of Sussex’s wedding dress this year, is up for two awards – Designer of the Year and British Designer of the Year Womenswear – while Alessandro Michele, the design supremo credited with reversing the fortunes of Gucci, is nominated for Designer of the Year and Accessories Designer of the Year.

The 10 pre-announced awards, which will be given out at a star-studded ceremony at the Royal Albert Hall on December 10, also include categories for: British Emerging Talent Menswear; British Emerging Talent, Womenswear; Business Leader; Model of the Year; Urban Luxe and Brand of the Year. The latter sees Balenciaga, Burberry, Gucci, Off-White and Prada up for the top prize.

“We are delighted to reveal the nominees for the 2018 Fashion Awards,” said Nadja Swarovski, member of the executive board at Swarovski which sponsors the event. “Representing fashion’s most inspiring emerging and established talents, this list is the perfect showcase for the energy and diversity of the industry today.”

For the first time, this year’s awards will also honour 100 of the most innovative and inspiring talents from around the world, ranging from makeup artists and models to digital influencers and journalists, voted for by 2,000 members of the fashion industry.

Additional awards that are not voted for but chosen by the British Fashion Council and which will also be awarded on the night are Outstanding Achievement, the Swarovski Award for Positive Change, the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator and the Special Recognition Award for Innovation.

The awards, which were rebranded as the Fashion Awards in 2016 and relocated to the Royal Albert Hall from the much smaller Coliseum venue in London, act as a major fundraising event for the not-for-profit BFC. Whereas it was previously an invite-only event, members of the public are now invited to purchase tickets to attend the ceremony, which was devised by the then-chair Dame Natalie Massenet to rival the Met Gala.

Her successor, Stephanie Phair, said today: “I would like to congratulate all the nominees … Each and every one of them is being recognised for their creative excellence and innovation. I look forward to celebrating them alongside the rest of the industry from across the globe.”

The full list of nominees are:

Accessories Designer of the Year
Alessandro Michele for Gucci
Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga
Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Maria Grazia Chiuri for Dior
Miuccia Prada for Prada

Brand of the Year

British Designer of the Year Menswear
Craig Green for Craig Green
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson
Kim Jones for Dior Homme
Martine Rose for Martine Rose
Riccardo Tisci for Burberry

British Designer of the Year Womenswear
Clare Waight Keller for Givenchy
Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson
Roksanda Ilinčić for Roksanda
Simone Rocha for Simone Rocha
Victoria Beckham for Victoria Beckham

British Emerging Talent Menswear
Ben Cottrell and Matthew Dainty for Cottweiler
Eden Loweth & Tom Barratt for Art School
Kiko Kostadinov for Kiko Kostadinov
Phoebe English for Phoebe English
Samuel Ross for A-Cold-Wall*

British Emerging Talent Womenswear
Matty Bovan for Matty Bovan
Natalia Alaverdian for A.W.A.K.E.
Rejina Pyo for Rejina Pyo
Richard Quinn for Richard Quinn
Sofia Prantera for Aries

Business Leader
Jonathan Akeroyd for Versace
José Neves for Farfetch
Marco Bizzarri for Gucci
Marco Gobbetti for Burberry
Michael Burke for Louis Vuitton

Designer of the Year
Alessandro Michele for Gucci
Clare Waight Keller for Givenchy
Kim Jones for Dior Homme
Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino
Virgil Abloh for Louis Vuitton

Model of the Year
Adut Akech
Adwoa Aboah
Bella Hadid
Kaia Gerber
Winnie Harlow

Urban Luxe
Marine Serre

• This article was amended on 23 October 2018 as the British Fashion Council corrected two nominees’ names that were in their original press release. © Guardian News & Media Limited 2010

Published via the Guardian News Feed plugin for WordPress.