Stefano Inglese wins the young yacht designer of the year award

“Young Designer of the Year Award” celebrated the best of superyacht design from the boards of student and trainee designers.


On June 21 at the ShowBoats Design Awards gala evening, was announced the winner of the sixth annual Young Designer of the Year Award in front of an international audience of yacht owners and leading superyacht designers.

The Young Designer of the Year Award is a worldwide initiative launched to uncover the industry’s up-and-coming creative talents, celebrating the best of superyacht design from the boards of student and trainee designers. This year’s judging panel received 40 entries from students or newly graduated designers.

The judges, an illustrious group of industry professionals and yacht owners, voted Stefano Inglese to be the winner- among five other finalists-for his Project “Granturismo“.

Hailing from Rome, Inglese is an advanced architectural design student at Uniroma University. The silhouette of the Granturismo sports cars inspired his high-performance hybrid yacht design. Inglese says, “The idea was to deliver the same feelings one has when traveling en plein air in a sports car.” He also adds, “the boat is made to communicate to the non-rational side of the human soul… placing human emotions and the joy of life in first place.”

‘I would like to thank Oceanco and Boat International Media for recognising young designers. Both confidence and recognition for designers entering the industry are fundamental and this award supports that. I felt pure joy when I was announced the winner and receiving the award has inspired me to work and study even harder. It was exceptional to meet the industry leaders, especially the icon John Munford, in an incredible location. I look forward to developing the fantastic connections I made at the ShowBoats Design Awards both professionally and, more importantly, personally,’ commented 2013 Winner, Stefano Inglese.

“Young Designer of the Year Award” 2013 Finalists were:
Raphael Laloux for Project MY65m Atlantic
Juan Ortiz Rincon for Project Anaconda
Jim Robert Sluijter for Project Wingspan
Benjamin Julian Toth for Project Reseadence 60.