2012 Hyères Festival: The Chloe award went to Steven Tai

Every Spring in the South of France, the ‘International Fashion and Photography Festival’ spotlights young promising artists in the fields of fashion and photography. On the four days of the festival, young fashion designers present to the public their first collection in a series of fashion shows.

One of the prizes offered at 2012 Hyères Festival was given by Chloe. The award consisted of a design grant. Maison Chloé reserves the right to market the winner’s design, in which case, a percentage of the sales earned will be shared with the designer.

This year winner is Steven Tai who has recently completed a cursus at Central Saint Martin, while at the same time working as an assistant for Bless, Viktor & Rolf and Stella McCartney. The prize was given along with a grant of 15 000 euros.

The Grand Prix L’ORÉAL PROFESSIONNEL went to Siiri raasakka, tiia Siren & Elina Laitenen Finland, Menswear. The prize was given along with a grant of 15 000 euros.

The Première Vision award went to Ragne Kikas Estonia, Womenswear.

The Public Palais de Tokyo / Villa Noailles award went to Lucas Sponchiado Belgium, Womenswear.

Numerous talents revealed by the past of the 2012 Hyères festival’s Fashion Competition have since become essential names in the world of fashion: Viktor & Rolf, Gaspard Yurkievich, Sébastien Meunier, Christian Wijnants, Alexandre Matthieu, Stéphanie Coudert, Richard René, Swash, C Neeon, Romain Kremer, Anthony Vaccarello, Julien Dossena, Peter Bertsch, Sandra Backlund, Jean-Paul Lespagnard, Matthew Cunnington, Mareunrol’s, Alexandra Verschueren, Léa Peckre, Céline Méteil, Émilie Meldem…

To cite only aprominent few. The Festival’s tight-knit bonds with the fashion industry are one of its major assets: leading fashion companies sponsor all events and awards, and thus mark their engagement towards young talent. Designers that have taken part in the Festival as members or the jury count Martin Margiela, Hussein Chalayan, Helmut Lang, Jean-Paul Gaultier, Martine Sitbon, John Galliano, Pierre Hardy, Anna Sui, Jean Colonna, Azzedine Alaïa, Ann Demeulemeester, Christian Lacroix, Riccardo Tisci, Haider Ackermann, Kris van Assche, Dries van Noten, Raf Simons…