Third Consecutive Rolex 24 Win for Acura in The North American Crown Jewel of Endurance Sports Car Racing

Acura returns to Daytona International Speedway and the IMSA season-opening Rolex 24 as two-time defending race winners. (Meyer Shank Racing won last year’s final race of the Daytona Prototype Interntional (DPi) era with the Acura ARX-05 driven by Tom Blomqvist, Oliver Jarvis, Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud.)

@Acura claims first victory in new, electrified IMSA GTP sports car racing era

Acura ARX-06 wins in competition debut with hybrid powertrain

Defending Rolex 24 at Daytona and series champions – Acura and Meyer Shank Racing – combined to score their second consecutive Rolex 24 victory today at Daytona International Speedway, in the start of the GTP hybrid racing era in the IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship.

The event marked the successful racing debut for the electrified Acura ARX-06 prototype sports car, the second successive win at Daytona for the Meyer Shank Racing team, and the third consecutive Rolex 24 win for Acura in the North American crown jewel of endurance sports car racing [see Fast Facts section below].

Starting from the pole, the MSR Acura driver lineup of Tom Blomqvist, Colin Braun, Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud led the opening hour, and dominated early portions of the twice-around-the-clock contest; until a series of caution flags closed up the field for the final eight hours of the race.

However, the caution flags also enabled the Wayne Taylor racing with Andretti Autosport Acura ARX-06 recover from a series of minor earlier delays, moving into second place in the final hours. Together, the two Acura teams fought off the competition throughout the closing laps to score their second consecutive Acura 1-2 at Daytona.

Meyer Shank racing, Wayne Taylor racing with Andretti Autosport repeat 2022’s 1-2 sweep of the 24-hour endurance racing classic; @Acura

Acura NSX GT3 Evo22

In the production-based GTD class, Acura NSX GT3 Evo22s from Gradient racing and Racers Edge Motorsports with WTR both persevered to take home fourth and sixth place finishes respectively.

Gradient racing, with a lineup comprised of veteran Acura NSX driver Katherine Legge, Mario Farnbacher and Marc Miller, partnered with rookie Sheena Monk on her IMSA Weather Tech Sportscar Championship debut for the Rolex 24. The team overcame a late race fuel fire that set them off strategy, coupled with a massive fuel-saving effort at the finish, to bring their #66 Acura NSX GT3 Evo22 home fourth.

At Racers Edge Motorsports with WTR, Ashton Harrison, the reigning Fanatec GT World Challenge America presented by AWS champion for Acura, partnered with Wayne Taylor racing Super Trofeo drivers Danny Formal and Kyle Marcelli, as well as NTT INDYCAR SERIES race-winner Ryan Briscoe to bring home a sixth-place finish to open their 2023 Michelin Endurance Cup campaign.

@Acura at Rolex 24 at Daytona

Rolex 24 Race Results:

1st overall – #60 Tom Blomqvist, Colin Braun, Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaug; Meyer Shank Racing Acura ARX-06
2nd overall – #10 Filipe Albuquerque, Louis Deletraz, Brendon Hartley and Ricky Taylor; Wayne Taylor racing with Andretti Autosport Acura ARX-06
4th GTD – #66 Mario Farnbacher, Katherine Legge, Marc Miller and Sheena Monk; Gradient racing Acura NSX GT3 Evo22
6th GTD – #93 Ryan Briscoe, Danny Formal, Ashton Harrison and Kyle Marcelli; Racers Edge Motorsports with WTR Acura NSX GT3 Evo22.

@Acura at @Rolex 24 at Daytona