British Fashion Council Revealed Winners Of The Fashion Awards

The Fashion Awards presented by Diet Coke 2022 Winners.

@The Fashion Awards presented by Diet Coke 2022 Winners.


The British Fashion Council (BFC) revealed the winners of The Fashion Awards 2022 presented by Diet Coke. The event raises the profile of and funds for the BFC Foundation charity which awards scholarships, grants and mentoring to future proof the pipeline of talent to the fashion industry. The event celebrates the role of fashion in self-expression, escapism and optimism. It also recognises the exceptional individuals, brands and businesses whose imagination and creativity have broken new ground in fashion globally over the past 12 months – transforming the possibilities of fashion today.

The evening, hosted by British and Jamaican actress Jodie Turner-Smith, celebrated twenty-three awards including fifteen Leaders of Change.

The Fashion Awards nominees and winners are voted for by an international judging panel made up of over 1000 industry experts.

The Fashion Awards presented by Diet Coke 2022 Winners

Designer of the Year: Pierpaolo Piccioli for Valentino

Presented by: Florence Pugh

  • BFC Foundation Award:  S.S.DALEY

Presented by: Golda Rosheuvel

  • Independent British Brand: Wales Bonner

Presented by: Yasmin Finney & Burna Boy

  • Special Recognition Award for Cultural Curation : Jefferson Hack

Presented by: Tilda Swinton

  • Leaders of Change

The 15 designers, brands, creatives, and individuals who created positive change within the fashion industry this past year under three categories: Environment, People and Creativity.

Presented by: Edward Enninful supported by Julie Pelipas.

BFC Creativity Award recognises designers and brands who made a global impact in the past year through their creativity in design, campaigns, collaborations and firm business foundation as well as defined the shape of global fashion.

Presented by: Sam Smith

Alessandro Michele

Daniel Roseberry

Harris Reed

Ibrahim Kamara

Raf Simons

  • Environment

Celebrates those who have made a significant contribution towards reducing the environmental impact of our industry to create positive change. They are the leaders and are setting the bar by exploring new business models, design principles, production processes, consumption, and disposal.

Presented by: Paris Jackson

Bethany Williams

Connor Ives

Gabriela Hearst

Marine Serre

Priya Ahluwalia

  • People

Recognises those who have led change by encouraging equal, diverse, empowered workforces from head office to supply chain and shop floor. It focuses on the impact fashion has on communities.

Presented by: Emma Corrin

Aurora James

Harry Lambert

Julie Pelipas

Sinéad Burke

Rafael Pavarotti

Presented by: Ashley Graham

  • 2022 Outstanding Achievement Award: Yvon Chouinard

Presented by: Elizabeth Debicki

  • Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator: Katie Grand

Presented by: Charlotte Tilbury

Presented by: Kojey Radical

The evening included a number of special celebrations that showcased fashion at the intersection of culture.

The Red Carpet LIVESTREAM served by Diet Coke opened with a live performance by singer Olivia Dean who performed her hit single DANGER!, accompanied by Diet Coke’s very own Fashion Awards Glambot. The Red Carpet was hosted by Presenter Miquita Oliver, Author and Columnist Raven Smith and Editor Julia Hobbs, highlighting key arrivals and special moments.

The pre-show ceremony involved a Jean Paul Gaultier Fashion Freak Show, an electric combination of revue, pop concert and fashion show in a spirit of exuberance and magic. The awards ceremony opened with an iconic Year in Review film hosted by Christine Quinn, Tom Daley and Munya Chawawa, highlighting moments in fashion that have defined this year. Discover the film here.

2023 marks 30 years since the launch of NEWGEN which was set up to enable a group of designers, including the late Lee Alexander McQueen, to showcase their collections at London Fashion Week. NEWGEN was recognised at The Fashion Awards with a special introduction by Dr. Samuel Ross, Artist and Creative Director of A COLD WALL. An exclusive film featuring Princess Julia celebrated the creative zeitgeist of NEWGEN and its social and political relevance.

The evening included performances by Shygirl and Jessie Ware whilst DJ Jodie Harsh and DJ Fat Tony led the afterparty.

The British Fashion Industry paid tribute to Queen Elizabeth II through The Fashion Salute Show. Designers included Alexander McQueen, Burberry, Charles Jeffrey (Loverboy), Christopher Kane, David Koma, Dilara Findikoglu, Dunhill, Edward Crutchley, Erdem, Halpern, Harris Reed, JW Anderson, KNWLS, Matty Bovan, Molly Goddard, Nensi Dojaka, Nicholas Daley, Ozwald Boateng, Philip Treacy, Preen, Rejina Pyo, Richard Malone, Richard Quinn, Roksanda, Roland Mouret, Simone Rocha, Stella McCartney, Stephen Jones, Vivienne Westwood, Victoria Beckham, Wales Bonner, Zandra Rhodes.

As well as recognising designers and industry leaders, The Fashion Awards celebrated five years of NEW WAVE: Creatives and the 2022 cohort through a special film created by Matte Projects. The accolade represents 50 of the most innovative and inspiring young creative talents from around the world spanning continents and creative disciplines. The award pays homage to the incredible success of both home-grown and international talent; while celebrating all those who play a vital role in the industry’s cultural and creative reputation.

Each winner received a unique trophy designed by British- Nigerian designer Yinka Illori in collaboration with ethical and environmentally friendly jewelry company SkyDiamond, and glass design studio The Glass Foundry. The trophy, which was manufactured by hand at The Glass Foundry in the Cotswold’s, spotlights the necessity of creative collaboration and eco-innovation demonstrating how design unifies communities and has a positive impact on society, evoking a sense of joy and optimism.

@BFC Fashion Trust

Applications for the BFC Fashion Trust are now open!

As part of the BFC Foundation, the BFC Fashion Trust has the mission to empower positive business growth through financial grants and mentoring. Deadline to apply is 26th January 2023 5:00pm GMT via

Grant money supports a defined project that will be delivered within a set period of time, and applicants must articulate how projects align to their broader vision and show a clear return on investment.

The 53 designers who have been supported to date include: Christopher Kane, David Koma, Emilia Wickstead, ERDEM, Halpern, Marques’Almeida, Molly Goddard, Nicholas Daley, Rejina Pyo, Roksanda, and #TFA 2022 Independent British Brand winner Wales Bonner.