16th Webby Awards Gala

Webby is an international trophy for the best of the internet for websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, mobile and apps. Each of the 100 categories gets a Webby, awarded by the 1000-member academy, including David Bowie and Richard Branson, and The People’s Voice award.

With nearly 10,000 works entered from over 60 countries around the world and nearly one million votes in the Webby People’s Voice Awards, the 16th Annual Webby Awards is the biggest in  prize’s history and continues to be the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet. Past winners have included Google, Twitter, Flickr and iTunes. Winners announced May 1 and the awards gala will be streamed live gala May 21 featuring the signature 5-word speeches and performances.

Instagram was awarded Webby Breakout of the Year in recognition of the social photo-sharing app’s enormous proliferation and popularity.

BBH is the winner of the Agency of the Year Award in the 16th Annual Webby Awards. The Agency of the Year Award recognizes the most successful agency across all Webby categories including interactive advertising, websites, mobile sites, and online film and video.

Juliette Lewis and Graydon Shepard will be honored with a Special Achievement Award as Best Actresses for their performances in the Internet sensation “Sh*t Girls Say.” Based on the eponymous Twitter account, the hilarious videos not left their mark on Internet culture (receiving nearly 25 million views to date), but also served as the inspiration to countless of iterations from users across the globe, embodying the very spirit of the Web’s open-source ethos.

Björk became Webby Artist of the Year in recognition of her album “Biophilia,” the world’s first “app album.”

The Webby Awards honored Louis C.K. as Person of the Year, in recognition of his “Live at the Beacon Theater” online broadcast. By charging only a nominal fee to fans and cutting out the middlemen, Louis C.K. brought his comedy directly to his fans, demonstrating his genuine embrace of the DIY-nature of the Web and the spirit of openness that defines the Internet.

The 16th Annual Webby Awards is streaming LIVE on May 21st at 5:30pm ET on webbyawards.com.