2013 CFDA Fashion Awards honored the best talent working in fashion industry

2013 CFDA Fashion Awards presented in New York. Proenza Schouler named Womenswear Designer of the Year

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) paid tribute to the winners and honorees of the 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards and commemorated the organization’s 50th anniversary at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center.

The evening’s Womenswear Designer of the Year honors went to Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, presented by Kerry Washington . The award for Menswear Designer of the Year was presented by Dan Stevens to Thom Browne. Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim took home the Accessories Designer of the Year Award, presented by Rose Byrne.

Secretary Clinton gave a moving tribute to Founders Award recipient Oscar de la Renta whom she met while hosting the Kennedy Center Honors in 1993. Clinton praised de la Renta for his unique contribution to fashion.

“Tonight we honored the best talent working in our industry today, and celebrated the indelible impact they’ve had on fashion; not only in America but throughout the world,” said CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg.

“A CFDA Fashion Award is one of the most coveted awards one can receive in our industry,” said CFDA CEO Steven Kolb . “This annual event is the one night we come together to celebrate our own.”

Hailee Steinfeld and Douglas Booth , stars of the upcoming film Romeo & Juliet from Swarovski Entertainment, presented the three Swarovski Awards, which honor and recognize emerging talent. The Swarovski Award for Womenswear was given to Erin Beatty & Max Osterweis for Suno. The Swarovski Award for Menswear was presented to Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne for Public School. The Swarovski Award for Accessories Design went to Pamela Love.

Recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from the company as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative crystal products and applications for fashion. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Vera Wang by Ralph Lauren for her consistent, creative influence on fashion.

The Media Award for excellence in journalism, originally created in honor of Eugenia Sheppard , was presented to Tim Blanks by Linda Evangelista.

Riccardo Tisci of Givenchy was recognized with this year’s International Award, presented by Jessica Chastain. The Board of Directors’ Tribute was given to Colleen Atwood by Ethan Hawke . Atwood is the first costume designer to be recognized by the CFDA.