Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2023: Aiguille d’Or Grand Prix Went To Audemars Piguet

Unveiling Time’s Masterpieces: A Glance at the Remarkable Winners of Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2023.

Winners of @Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2023. @GPHG

In the heart of Geneva’s Théâtre du Léman, the air buzzed with anticipation as the curtains rose on November 9th, revealing the crème de la crème of the watchmaking world at the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève (GPHG) 2023. Chaired by the illustrious Nick Foulkes, the 2023 jury and the 847-member GPHG Academy bestowed 19 prizes, unveiling time’s masterpieces in an awards ceremony that captivated industry stakeholders and watch enthusiasts alike.

Aiguille d’Or Grand Prix: Audemars Piguet’s Code 11.59 by Audemars Piguet Ultra-Complication Universelle RD#4

The crown jewel of the night, the “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix, found its deserving home on the wrist of Audemars Piguet. The Code 11.59 by Audemars Piguet Ultra-Complication Universelle RD#4 stole the spotlight, a testament to contemporary watchmaking excellence and creative audacity. Crafted with precision and innovation, this timepiece stood out in a field of extraordinary nominees, earning Audemars Piguet the highest accolade of the evening.

Special Jury Prize: Svend Andersen and Vincent Calabrese

Celebrating outstanding personalities and institutions in the watchmaking world, the Special Jury Prize shone a spotlight on Svend Andersen and Vincent Calabrese for their creation of the AHCI (Académie Horlogère des Créateurs Indépendants). Their contributions to advancing the art of independent watchmaking were duly recognized, adding a touch of personal achievement to the night’s festivities.

@Audemars Piguet Code 11.59 watch by Audemars Piguet Ultra-Complication Universelle RD#4

A Symphony of Excellence: Other Winners of Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2023

The night unfolded like a grand symphony, with each note played by the winners echoing the harmonious blend of craftsmanship, innovation, and artistry. Here’s a glimpse into some of the other maestros who claimed the spotlight:

  • Innovation Prize: Hautlence, Sphere Series 1
  • Audacity Prize: Maison Alcée, Persée Azur
  • Chronometry Prize: Ferdinand Berthoud, Chronomètre FB 3SPC
  • “Horological Revelation” Prize: Simon Brette, Chronomètre Artisans;

    @GPHG 2023 Winner – Ladies’ Watch Prize: @Piaget Hidden Treasures ladies watch

  • Ladies’ Watch Prize: Piaget, Hidden Treasures
  • Ladies’ Complication Watch Prize: Dior Montres, Grand Soir Automate Etoile de Monsieur Dior
  • Men’s Complication Watch Prize: Voutilainen, World Timer watch
  • Iconic Watch Prize: Ulysse Nardin, Freak One
  • Tourbillon Watch Prize: Laurent Ferrier, Grand Sport Tourbillon Pursuit
  • Calendar and Astronomy Watch Prize: Bovet 1822, Récital 20 Astérium
  • Chronograph Watch Prize: Petermann Bédat, Chronographe rattrapante
  • Sports Watch Prize: Tudor, Pelagos 39
  • Jewellery Watch Prize: Bulgari, Serpenti Cleopatra
  • Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Piaget, Altiplano Métiers d’Art – Undulata
  • “Petite Aiguille” Prize: Christopher Ward London, C1 Bel Canto
  • Challenge Watch Prize: Raymond Weil, Millésime automatic small seconds
  • Mechanical Clock Prize: L’Epée 1839, Time Fast II Chrome.

The 90 nominated timepieces, including these winners, transformed the Musée Rath in Geneva into a horological wonderland, enchanting visitors with the artistry and innovation displayed.

From Geneva to Dubai and Zurich, the laureates of this year’s GPHG competition spread their magic, showcasing their creations at Dubai Watch Week and the Kunsthaus in Zurich, ensuring that the brilliance of these timepieces resonates far beyond the Swiss borders.

As the echoes of the GPHG 2023 awards night linger in the air, one thing is certain – the winners have not just marked their place in watchmaking history; they have elevated it to new heights, reminding us that the art of crafting time is as awe-inspiring as the passage of time itself.

GPHG Mechanical Clock Prize 2023: @L’Epée 1839, Time Fast II Chrome.